Physiology of circulation, kidney and lung

Research focus

Our research theme studies physiological, pathophysiological and diagnostic aspects of the heart, vasculature, kidney and lung, as well as interactions between these organ systems.

The overall aims of our research theme are to develop novel insights in physiology, new treatment strategies and non-invasive diagnostics. To pursue these aims, our research embraces multiple methods allowing us to perform clinical trials and work with humans and animals in vivo through to the investigating of individual cells.

Our theme utilizes the considerable skill sets of its members and our tradition for collaboration to ensure a diverse and innovative approach to our research.

For more information on the topics and methods, please visit the group sites of our theme members.

Research groups

Professors, Associate professors and Tenure-track Associate professors in the research theme

Name Title Email
Charlotte Mehlin Sørensen Associate Professor cmehlin@sund.ku.dk
Christian Aalkjær Professor caal@sund.ku.dk
Christina Christoffersen Associate Professor Christinac@sund.ku.dk
Helena Dominquez Associate Professor lamora@sund.ku.dk
Henrik El Ali Associate Professor helali@sund.ku.dk
Jens Christian Brings Jacobsen Associate Professor jcbrings@sund.ku.dk
Jørgen Kanters Associate Professor jkanters@sund.ku.dk
Morten Bækgaard Thomsen Associate Professor mbthom@sund.ku.dk
Morten Schak Nielsen Associate Professor schak@sund.ku.dk
Olga Sosnovtseva Associate Professor olga@sund.ku.dk
Ronan Berg Associate Professor ronan@sund.ku.dk
Thomas Qvistgaard Jepps Tenure-track Assistant Professor tjepps@sund.ku.dk
Thomas Jespersen Professor thojes@sund.ku.dk
Thomas Jonassen Associate Professor jonassen@sund.ku.dk
Tor Biering-Sørensen Associate Professor tobs@sund.ku.dk