Endocrinology – University of Copenhagen

Forward this page to a friend Resize Print Bookmark and Share

English > Research > Endocrinology

Section of Endocrinology Research

The section focus on the importance of intrauterine programming, mitochondrial dysfunction in association with insulin-resistance, the incretin function with adipositas and diabetes, lipoprotein metabolism and adipositas aetiology and pathogenesis, and cytokine-induced β-cell death.

For the past 30 years the Section Manager Professor Jens Juul Holst has researched in abdomen gut hormones. What started as a research project at Bispebjerg hospital has led to numerous new preparations for the treatment of type-2 diabetes.

The section consists of the following research groups:

Translational Metabolic Physiology
Our research is focused on four main areas.

Research group leader: Professor Jens Juul Holst

Thomas Mandrup-Poulsen

Immuno-endocrinology Lab
We work to prevent and cure type 1 and type 2 diabetes by targeting the inflammatory pathways.

Research group leader: Professor Thomas Mandrup-Poulsen

Hannelouise Kissow

Gut Hormone Biology Lab
We work with the extra-pancreatic effects of GLP-1 in relation to pulmonary and intestinal diseases.

Research group leader: Assistant Professor Hannelouise Kissow

Niels Bindslev

Human Gut Transport Lab
We seek to characterize especially functional receptor subtypes for serotonin and prostaglandins in human duodenum and colon. Niels Bindslev is also course director for the PhD course Drug Receptor Interactions.

Research group leader: Associate Professor Niels Bindslev

Klaus Qvortrup

Structural Pathobiology
Research in the section of pathobiology is focused primarily on the application of morphological techniques.

Research group leader: Professor Klaus Qvortrup

Carolyn Deacon

Deacon Group

Research group leader: Associate Professor Carolyn Deacon

Signe Sørensen Torekov

Clinical Translational Metabolism

Research group leader: Associate Professor Signe Sørensen Torekov

Andreas Kjær

Cluster for Molecular Imaging

Research group leader: Professor Andreas Kjær

Gut Hormones and Bone Remodeling

Research group leader: Associate Professor Bolette Hartmann