About the Department – University of Copenhagen

Forward this page to a friend Resize Print Bookmark and Share

English > About the Department

About BMI

The Department management

Head of Department
Bente Stallknecht

Telephone: +45 35327540 
E-mail: bstall@sund.ku.dk
See Bente's field of research

Vice Head of Department for Research

Jens Juul Holst

Telephone: +45 28 757518
E-mail: jjholst@sund.ku.dk
See Jens Juul Holst's field of research

Nicole Schmitt

Vice Head of Department for Education
Nicole Schmitt

Telephone: +45 353-27448
E-mail: nschmitt@sund.ku.dk
See Nicole Schmitt's field of research

Department Administrator
Anders Sondrup


Mobile: +45 23 398726  
E-mail: ason@sund.ku.dk   


The Secretariat

Administrative tasks - PDF version for print

Grace Holm, Department secretary, room 12.5.33, phone: (+45) 35 32 74 28, e-mail: grace@sund.ku.dk

Ragnhild Mostert, HR employee, room: 12.5.27, phone: (+45) 21 16 19 29, e-mail: rmostert@sund.ku.dk  

Filip Skovgaard Nielsen, Finance controller, room 12.5.33, phone: (+45) 35 33 25 43, e-mail: filip@sund.ku.dk

Jane Nagbøl, Communications officer, room: 12.5.27, phone: (+45) 24 34 06 70, e-mail: jnagboel@sund.ku.dk

Stephanie Sarah Klink, Communications officer, room: 12.5.27, phone: (+45) 35 33 43 91, e-mail: stephanieklink@sund.ku.dk

Paul Meyer Mai, Work Environment Coordinator, room: 12.5.35, phone (+45) 28 75 60 05, e-mail: pmm@sund.ku.dk

Henrik Riel, Mail and practical tasks, room: 12.5.33, phone: (+45) 21 16 20 29, e-mail: hriel@sund.ku.dk


The history of BMI

The Department of Biomedical Sciences was formed on 1 January 2007 in order to merge the resources of five smaller departments into one unit concentrating on basic research from a clinical perspective to improve diagnostics and patient therapies. 

The Department of Biomedical Sciences consist of the following former Departments:

  • Department of Medical Physiology (MFI)
  • The Department of Medical Anatomy (MAI)
  • The Department of Medical Biochemistry and Genetics (IMBG)
  • The Department of Pharmacology (FI)
  • The Department of Molecular Pathology (IMP)


The Department of Biomedical Sciences is part of the Faculty of Health and Medical Sciences.